Yoga has taught me patience yet my mind has not been relaxed

I have been a bit quiet of late, I have been super busy with classes, and setting up my first little fitness event.

Amidst the calm relaxed classes I teach, the excitement with setting up an event and the rewards that come when I learn and master a new yoga pose, I have felt like a hypocrite as my mind until today has been busy and full of nonsense.

20140227-155707.jpg

Today, I slept in and had coffee and read a book in bed. I read a book and drank a homemade healthy smoothie by a pool, I cooked up some healthy meals and I made a huge decision to put a stop to the madness in my mind.

20140227-155951.jpg

I lifted my heart to the sun and I thought about the reasons for my frustrations; friends I thought who would have been more supportive and helpful towards my business, friends who I hoped would have made a little more time for me.

It all comes down to expectations- I expect to receive back what I give to others and today I realized with such clarity I need to let go of these expectations in order to stop feeling so let down.

I need to change my pattern of thinking in order to calm and relax my soul and mind.

Realistically it probably won’t be easy, but it (like anything) can be done.

Yoga has taught me patience with my practice so it’s time to apply it to my thoughts.

Today I challenged my mind and my body and as I plunged into the refreshing pool I felt I had made progress.

20140227-160606.jpg

It sounds so silly when you say these things out loud, but I am sure I am not the only one who feels let down from time to time.

In reality everyone is different, everyone shows support, friendship and love in different ways and maybe these people are showing it in ways I couldn’t see at the time.

So today I spent time thinking about that, focussing on the good not the bad.

I wiped my frazzled, frustrated thoughts clean and I replaced with happy kind beautiful ones instead.

Today was a really great day!

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yoga has taught me patience yet my mind has not been relaxed

  1. Refreshing post! Enjoyed your pictures!

  2. simplysands says:

    I feel just like you. Expectations is a big thing when we give out our hearts. But you are right, maybe they care about you (and me) but show it in a different way. Just because we don’t see it, doesn’t mean love is not there.

    • Lou Schwarz says:

      Thanks for your comments Simplysands, I hope you are ok in times like this, yes it is hard to remember at times, but knowing there are like minded people like you out there make it easier. Thank you for sharing your heart and your comments xx

Leave a Reply

