What is weighing you down?

I am sitting in my garden and as usual I am a contradiction of thoughts and emotions. I am thinking about the things in life that weigh us down.

The relationships that seem like more work than fun, the workplaces we don’t really enjoy, societies pressures or simply the pressures we put on ourselves.

I think it is important every now and then to find a quiet place, do a quick mental stocktake of your life and work out what is weighing you down.

That’s step one, that’s the easy bit.

Next more difficult question is what are you going to do about the things that don’t make you happy?

Step two, taking action.

Think about it; would you knowingly jump into a river with an anchor tied around your leg, knowing it would pull you down to the bottom.

Faced with a choice of jumping in with or without the anchor we would all choose without.

If you jumped in and got tangled in something that was pulling you down, you would do anything in your power to break free.

Yet in reality when it comes to being weighed down mentally, we keep getting pulled down further and further and often don’t take actions to fix it.

We complain to our friends, we sink deeper into ourselves, into a heavy dark place we no longer like, but we don’t take actions to fix it, to shed this excess negative weight.

We don’t try hard enough to do whatever we can to make ourselves feel lighter, happier and weightless.

Sometimes the most obvious things are the hardest to see. The most obvious solutions are staring us in the face.

Sometimes we need to cull the dead weight, stop spending so much time on things and people who are not worthy of our time, to allow us to focus on the things and people that are.

So my question to you all is what is weighing you down?

My hope is the answer is nothing, but if it is I really hope that you find the strength and confidence to shed it.

I know exactly who and what makes me happy, I know that I felt instantly lighter by sitting outside in the fresh air, I know that one-sided friendships weigh me down, I know that I give at times way too many “second” chances.

I know all of this, yet I too at times get weighed down by the things I know make me unhappy, so this post is a reminder to me as well as you to stocktake to do some spring cleaning of the negative and make more room for the positive.

It seems madness to me when I think too long about a negative thing when there are so many positive people and things in my life.

It really is possible to feel so happy and alive that you are floating.

This I experience frequently. Yet this feeling I know can instantly vanish the minute I focus on the negative things that weigh me down.

The minute you shed that weight you will start to soar!

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

