A pain in the neck

this post is dedicated to my dear friend “Alfalfa” who has been my best friend for ever and who has been managing pain for many years now….

As I said my friend Alfalfa to whom I am the sprout ūüôā – has been managing severe back pain for several years now. I have empathized, I have sympathised, I have felt sad for her to the depth of my soul and back again, but until this week I have to admit I have had no idea just what she has been going through.

What I have been going through is a blip on the radar to what my brave friend has been going through and while I already knew it, I think she is just amazing.  Managing pain, a house and a family can not be easy.

3 weeks ago I had a little accident that involved me falling quite harshly on my tailbone, as I landed I knew something wasn’t right.

However, a hot shower, some ice, a heat pack later, ¬†it was sore the next day but nothing crazy.¬† Day 3 I couldn’t move my neck side to side, I of course being the fool that I am continued to teach fitness in a subdued modified way and even offered to do the robot dance instead – yes I am that hilarious!

Somehow I got through that class, the one after and the 23 (no joke) after that!

Everyone keeps telling me how strong I am, and while that may be a little bit true, I dare say stupidity has played a huge role in my life of late.

**** Warning: this next paragraph may shock some of you********

So 23 classes later, I had the weekend off to relax and here comes the shocking part, my neck went into total spasm, excruciating pain that I wasn’t expecting.

I went to the physio¬†early in the week and¬†was told¬†I had severe whiplash! Anyway long story short this last week has been a blur or physio’s, acupuncture, remedial massage, pain like I had never experienced before, pain located in the back of the neck so lying down to sleep made me feel like my head wanted to explode and as a result I have not slept for the entire week.

Pain so bad that I have been taking as many nurofen as I can to get through the days and the long nights of sitting on the floor crying.

Pain so bad that from taking so many tablets, something I never do, has made me want to throw up in-between sitting on the floor crying.

Don’t feel sad for me, this has given me loads of time to think, to realise how strong and amazing my friend alfalfa is, time to re-evaluate my life, what and who makes me happy and who and what doesn’t.

Time to think about just how many beautiful people are in my life, who have been texting me to see how I am, thinking about facebook¬†and how I haven’t posted my pain simply to get attention, I am fortunate enough to be surrounded by people who love me and care.

Time to think about my health that I like most of us take for granted until something is taken away.

Time to think about how important is to look after yourself, if something isn’t right – fix it. If the person fixing it (as happened in my case) isn’t helping keep looking until you find someone who will.

You deserve to be well, you deserve to feel great, you deserve to find what works for you – even if that is different to what works for everyone else.

It is your body, your life, treat it right and it will look after you.

Get second, third and fourth opinions, keep going until you feel like your normal amazing self once more.

You owe it to yourself.

These last few weeks have literally been a pain a neck, but as always I try to find a positive or two when I can.

Maybe I needed the time to think about my life, to feel so bad I can appreciate feeling so great again when I am completely healed.

Maybe I needed to go through this to enable me to help others, maybe I simply needed to really understand and appreciate my friend a little better.

Maybe I have been a pain in someone’s neck and got a literal dose of my own medicine – haha!

What I do know is, life is too short to dwell on why, what, how; learn, grow, evolve, be kind to yourself.

Relax your soul, look after your body and calm your mind any chance that you can.

To my beautiful friend Alfalfa thanks for being so amazing and such an important part of my life…

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

