How yoga makes me feel

I awoke tired and groggy, a body in turmoil, a mind refusing to accept it was time to rise!

I begrudgingly pick up my yoga mat, a confused feeling coursing through my veins, I love what I do, why wasn’t I excited as I normally am?

I look down, without knowing why, I had put on my cranky pants this morning; these hadn’t come out in a while and I was still confused as to why they had made an appearance today.

Then I remembered a little accident I had earlier in the week, an accident that has had my back and neck in spasms and pain the entire week.

Could this be affecting my mood, could I be feeling ugly when I look in the mirror due to the large bags under my eyes from a few sleepless pain filled nights?

I stepped into the stage, I unfolded my yoga mat, my head was pounding, my neck was hurting, but as I stepped onto that mat and stared out at the expectant sea of faces staring back at me, something inside me shifted.

A familiar excitement and yearning returned, warming my insides.

The pounding in my head continued, but was dulled by the beating of my heart, I centered myself, I calmed myself with my breath and I let the yoga energy take over.

I stepped away from myself momentarily and jumped right into myself; that is the power of yoga, it allows you to block everything else out, and what is left is pure energy, breath and deep contentment.

This powerful positive feeling started to bubble up and rose so quickly to the surface that for a brief moment it rendered me speechless, I was lost and trapped inside a euphoric bubble.

I didn’t want to leave, but once you have experienced the power of yoga you only need to retreat back into yourself, and that euphoric bubble is patiently waiting for you.

Yoga makes me feel powerful from my feet all the way into my finger tips as I ground myself in an extended mountain pose.

Yoga makes me feel strong as I challenge myself to go further on warrior poses.

Yoga calms and centers me as I learn to breathe deeply, fully and into my whole body.

Yoga is a breath, a moment, a whisper, a tidal wave of energy or a warm blanket of security.

Yoga is whatever you want it to be, yoga is a unity that unites your body, your breath, your state of mind.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

