Do one thing a week that scares you

So after my little funk of sadness, voicing my inner monologue to you with my tales of woe – (thanks for listening by the way not that you had a choice – haha ) today I woke up still feeling a little under the weather with illness but mentally much better.

Today I thought about this saying I heard recently…….

“See each sunrise as a gift with a 24 hour expiration – then make the most of it”

Beautiful right?

So I woke up at sunrise with my little gift and wow did I make the most of it….. I remembered another saying, one that I made for myself a few years back and that is to do one thing a week that scares me…….and that is exactly what I did today.

Aside from scaring myself when I saw the bags under my eyes in the mirror, I took a brave step into unchartered territory today; I taught my very first dance class.

As I am not a dance instructor or even really a dancer this decision may come as a shock to you it certainly did to me when I agreed to cover the class, I hung up the phone and thought to myself – hold on what now!!!!

The way I see it, you need to be scared to be brave, you need to get out of your comfort zone to experience new things, to grow stronger as a person.

Last night I made up my little funky play list, I thought about trying to work out some routines but the thought of it all made a little queasy with nerves – so in true Lou style I thought no I am just going to wing it on the day……

What could possibly go wrong????

I woke up filled with a mixture of dread and excitement, I thought if I stride into this class filled with confidence I am bound to succeed!

This is fast becoming my motto for everything in my life this year.

If you convince yourself you can achieve – you do! If you tell yourself you can – you can!

Today I taught my very first dance class, I left my own inhibitions at the door, I used the confidence the instructor put into me to cover the class to put that energy into my class and myself.

I used my honesty and my earlier short-lived fears of self-doubt to make the class feel at ease and lose their own inhibitions – and the result was fantastic.

I danced like no one was watching – no really I did- I danced like a fool with reckless abandon, I danced with joy, I danced from the heart.

I made up everything on the spot, I was scared I was brave and now I just feel proud.

If you do one thing a week that scares you, you will either succeed or you will fail, but to try, to be brave, to take chances well that is everything- that is making the most of your day, and that is amazing.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

