Be you perfectly, rather than someone else imperfectly

While I can’t claim ownership for this title, I can tell you how I came to hearing it.

Last weekend I spent a blissful weekend at my first ever yoga retreat.

This retreat was run by three beautiful girls from Ambertree Retreats. If you ever need help relaxing and calming your soul then please check out their website and try to book a workshop or retreat to bask in their sunny and warm glow. Three diverse yet equally talented, and special girls who make my heart sing each and every time I am around them.

The retreat was filled with like-minded people, each unique, each with a varied range of fitness levels, everyone on their own personal journey.

I drove home from the retreat on a euphoric cloud of happiness. I may not be perfect, but I am following my dreams, I am creating the perfect life for me.

I came away from this retreat feeling validated and strong, proud of my achievements, unashamed of my failures; in my mind a failure means I tried and that is an achievement in itself.

To never try for fear of failure is not an option.

I am being me perfectly, rather than trying to be something I am not – rather than being someone else imperfectly!

To spend a weekend with people I either had only met recently or just met on the weekend, and to witness raw honest emotions amongst the group was a humbling and beautiful experience.

Everyone is fighting their own battles, and to stop and take time out for yourself can be an extremely challenging, yet rewarding experience.

Sitting still, listening to your breath and the thoughts in your head can be confronting.

In this competitive world being yourself and not conforming to other people’s idea of how you should live will at times be met with ridicule, this is sadly just the world we live in – how you deal with that and move forward is up to you 🙂

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Be you perfectly, rather than someone else imperfectly

  1. Amy Booth says:

    Thank you thank you! Such beautiful words you write! And thanks for the plug!

    Can we use it as a testimonial on our website?

    Amy Booth http://www.fitnessbooth.com.au 0466 579 708

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. simplysands says:

    Love it, in fact love how you write. It’s always inspiring 🙂

Leave a Reply

