Self criticism

Human beings by nature are critical.

P20130326-LS-015-(ZF-2409-14894-1-014)We are critical of others, we are critical of ourselves – this post is about the unfair, sometimes unrealistic criticism we give of ourselves.

I have been in quite a few photo shoots recently for a range of different reasons and it is very easy to look at images of yourself and find faults.

P20130326-LS-009-(ZF-2409-14894-1-009)

We can find faults with every image of ourselves, yet we can choose to rise above this if we try. We can choose to be kind to ourselves to learn to love ourselves more.

This photo shoot was by the talented shy fox photography and don’t get me wrong while I love the pictures and love how I look in some of them I can of course be way over critical and find faults in others – as I said we are human and this is what we do.

How we see ourselves is rarely how we are viewed by others.

Our imperfections make us unique, our uniqueness is beautiful to someone.

We put this unfair pressure on ourselves when we should be putting more time into loving who we are.

So next time you look in the mirror or look at a picture of yourself focus on what you love rather than what you don’t.

Be kind to yourself, be happy with yourself, less self critical and more self aware.

We are who we are, flaws and all – embrace it!

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

