Physical and mental challenges

Yesterday after a chat with my husband about people’s mental attitude when it comes to fitness, I once again swore I would never give up and always push myself to succeed.

Today with that in mind, as I went to a free Pilates class I was struggling to motivate myself to get of bed early morning with an aching and sore body.

Yet there I was in the class, proud that I made it on a Sunday morning. I challenged myself a little and took some lower options to save strength for my two hour yoga session this afternoon and multiple classes in the week.

Saved my strength that is until at the end of the class someone mentioned fitness challenge – the winner receives a free yoga mat.

Game on! Competitive much?

I am not sure if it was the allure of the free mat (I am not earning as much as I used to) or if it was the mental challenge that kept me standing while those around me were dropping out of the comp.

As the 4 remained out of the 34 that started, they kept making the challenge harder and more extreme to find a winner.

20130210-112911.jpg

The initial challenge – 50 calf lifts: heels lifted, squat keeping heels lifted. The person who does this then stays in squat with heels lifted the longest wins.

The add on’s for the stubborn remainders 🙂

20130210-113608.jpg

20130210-113616.jpg

The 4 became 2 me and another like minded stubborn non quitter.

We had to squat lower, lift our heels lower, lift one leg then the other.

As the two minute challenge turned into 8, they called it a draw.

My legs were trembling like I have never experienced before, yet my mind refused to give up.

It wasn’t even about the winning in the end, it was about endurance, about pushing myself to the limit, to challenge myself.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

