First world problems

Today is Wednesday and a few hours ago I had full power returned to my house since losing it on Saturday.

On Saturday as Cyclone Oswald unleashed its power on my beloved Queensland;  mini tornadoes were ripping roofs off, trees were being uprooted, and a relentless rain was causing flooding to the state for the second time in two years, my house lost power.

Today, on Wednesday after a sleepless night, covered in wet tea towels in an attempt to stay cool in this stifling heat – I boiled some water on the stove to make a coffee and I called an electrician.

20130130-125342.jpg

Today after baffling the electrician for over an hour as to why some of my power had returned but not all of it – I now have full power restored to my house after 5 days.

But let’s go back to Saturday, as the skies opened and the rain fell hard my husband and I decided if we were to be stuck indoors all weekend we should do a big shop and stock the fridge and pantry.

We returned home, dripping wet, turned on the tv and with tears threatening to form, my heart threatening to break, I watched with horror and sadness at the threat of my state being destroyed so soon after much of it has just been re built.

Two hours later we lost power, with our fridge filled with our newly purchased food, our attention was diverted as we watched with concern  at the rapidly rising water in our front porch.

Then the rain  eased…….

and the howling winds began. We drank wine by candle light texting and receiving texts from those close to us to check on the well-being of each other.

Sunday morning, after a sleepless night of loud frightening noises created by the wind, I crawled out of bed – couldn’t turn on the tv, couldn’t make a coffee, the freezer was defrosting – frick!

A minor inconvenience really when further north entire towns were under water, people are loosing their homes their businesses their lives.

Is my fridge full of food really an issue ? Or should I be feeling lucky that at anytime I want to I have the luxury of driving to the shops to buy fresh food.

I couldn’t watch tv, I couldn’t charge my phone, my computers, I had limited internet while my phone remained charged – all of these issues for a few whole days – first world problems!

I felt frustrated – then ashamed!

My home is dry, my friends and family are safe, I have all of this technology and devices at my fingers – I may not be able to use them but I am fortunate to have all these things to begin with.

I wanted to complain when it was so hot that I couldn’t turn on my fan to cool me- or should I instead have taken a moment to be thankful for having the luxury of electricity.

Surely out of such tragedy needs to come great lessons – timely reminders to be grateful and thankful for what we have.

As with anything, why do we only start to truly appreciate things when they are taken away?

Now there are reports of potential loss of water, water is such a given in our first world living, we turn on the tap and clean water comes out.  If that stops how will people cope, when in many countries this is a way of life.

As the news reports on the flooded towns, as happened last time, the forgotten towns (the ones the news fail to report on ) suffer in silence, wondering why no one cares.

So spare a quick thought for these towns, for other towns and countries who suffer who go without who are devastated by life’s events and no one seems to care or even notice.

Take a quick moment to ask yourself next time you are complaining about your first world problems is it really significant enough to complain about.

Take a moment to appreciate what you have in your life.

Take a moment to remember what is really important in life.

So as I sit on my couch, in my dry unaffected house, with the fan to cool me; I watch tv, I type on my computer and I try to let these lessons sink into my brain so I too can learn and grow from this.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First world problems

  1. ecosare says:

    Glad to hear you’re okay Lou Lou x

  2. Pingback: Australia Day « Was it all a Dream?

Leave a Reply

