Does your job define the person you are?

Yesterday I had the most amazing fun morning down at the beach wearing sparkly bunny ears and holding a giant red balloon for a photo shoot, but let’s come back to that later…….

Following the photo shoot we had a chat over coffee about the topic of work defining who you are.

Oddly this topic has been a recurring theme this week – this can’t be a coincidence – this is obviously an important topic on people’s minds of late.

Why is it the first question asked when meeting someone for the first time is ” what do you do for work?”

The answer you give to this question will immediately form that person’s opinion of you.

How many people are honestly living out their dream job and are not just simply working to make a living.

Why does is cause us such angst when faced with that question when we are not happy in the job we are in?

How can we be defined by this question when we are so much more than who we are between the hours of 9-5 (so to speak)!

Wouldn’t the better questions be: “What do you do when you are not working”? ” What makes you the person you are”? “What makes your soul sing?”

Why is society so intent on making us all fit neatly into a little box?

What if you are like me and  fit into several different categories?

Why is this so unsettling for people?

The people in my life who know me well  no longer expect me to fit into one defined category, they understand me they accept me.

There are many different aspects to my personality and I and those close to me embrace them all.

Back to yesterday morning; On Facebook I posted about my morning (neglecting to mention it was a photoshoot ) and while I had many ‘likes’ on this post – not one person commented, or asked why I would be on the beach in sparkling bunny ears and a giant red balloon – they simply accept that yep that’s Lou – of course that’s what she was doing!

I believe if you are true to yourself, if you follow your dreams and if you do not wish to be defined by one role, by one label then you don’t have to.

If  you are clear, passionate and proud of this then you should portray that. Be the person you want to, live the life you desire, not allow society to pigeon hole you into a tiny box that is not for you.

I am the girl who is a communications and marketing officer, a group fitness instructor, wears sparkly bunny ears, leaps high in the air, runs around like crazy, stares into the ocean for hours, is a photographer, a writer, a dreamer, a dancer.

I live I laugh I cry and I give.

I am all of these things and many more, I am not defined by one role.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

