What makes you feel rich?

I went away last weekend with some friends, one of several mini breaks in the last few weeks.

My friend told me she had recently read an article about the topic ‘what makes you feel rich’?

So while this topic is not my own and I am unable to give credit to the person with this awesome idea  – I have been unable to get it out of my mind since.

So I ask and invite you all to comment on what makes YOU feel rich?

As we sat in our resort drinking a bottle of champagne we all agreed that makes us feel rich.

20130108-072552.jpg

I pondered this question for days after our discussion, and now am pondering that I hope I don’t get sued for borrowing this topic 🙂

20130108-073418.jpg

Money has never been a huge factor in my life. I would choose a job that makes me happy over a higher paying one any day, well that is what I am doing now.  Choosing happiness has inundated me with rich rewards.

photo

Don’t get me wrong, without money I could not afford the mini breaks that I love, but traveling and experiencing life with people close to me makes me feel far richer than working my ass off becoming “rich” and having no time to see or speak with my friends or having no energy to enjoy my money and no friends left to enjoy it with.

Knowing I have improved someone’s life for the better through my exercise, through being a caring friend, or a considerate stranger, just feeling like I have made a positive difference makes me feel rich.

The knowledge that I have got to where I am today without any hand outs and have worked hard for everything I have achieved makes me feel rich and proud.

Feeling like I am beautiful to someone makes me feel rich.

Having fresh fruit and veggies, shopping wisely and not extravagantly yet being simply able to  eat and drink every day makes me feel rich.

When friends contact me as they have been thinking about me and want to spend time with me over the many other people in the world they could be thinking about or catching up with makes me feel rich and special. As does having such a wide circle of friends.

Living in a country where I am free to travel, to explore, to decide, to be creative and be free.

I could go on for ages, but what I love the most about this topic is the way it makes me look at my life and again appreciate the beautiful richness that surrounds me.

So again I ask you – what makes you feel rich?

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What makes you feel rich?

  1. Great topic Lou! Doesn’t matter it wasn’t soley your idea 😉 I feel rich in all the same ways you do but I feel richest when I hear the laughter of my children and get to play with them – which happens to be just about everyday! When they’re not around I feel richest when I’m being creative. Keep smiling!

Leave a Reply

