Knowing when to walk away

Today I spent a day with a girlfriend, we spent alot of time talking about relationships.

I believe if you keep putting yourself out there for someone and they are not making an effort for you, then perhaps you should stop putting yourself out there.

I believe if someone wants to be with you they would (or should) move mountains to be with you every chance they get.

Leaving my full-time job a few months ago, I wondered which friendships I would keep and which would slowly fizzle out.  It’s been a lovely journey learning that some have remained and are now even stronger than I imagined.

Those friends who regularly contact me wishing to catch up brings a light into my life and overwhelms me with joy.

Yet friendship is a two way street, and I would not expect my friends to want to keep trying me with if I never put in the effort with them.

If you keep trying to be with someone who is making no effort to spend time with you – then as terrible as it is to admit, perhaps they are just not that into you.

Telling people how you feel about them is important, let people know you care and don’t assume they automatically know this.

I believe you should always try to work through issues in relationships, give people the benefit of the doubt, yet if you find yourself consistently being let down, when the people in your life seem unaware they are even hurting you, then maybe it is time to walk away.

Life is simple in my head, and it makes me sad that at times it is so complicated for so many people. I appreciate my relationships so much and I appreciate that I have learnt to respect myself enough to know when enough is enough.

For every person not giving you the love you deserve, you are missing out on focussing on those in your life who do.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Knowing when to walk away

  1. Debra Kretschmer says:

    This is awesomely written…

Leave a Reply

