Self-doubt (the enemy of your mind)

Today I momentarily lost my mo-jo!

You see today I had an encounter with my arch nemesis who I like to call ‘self-doubt’.

Self-doubt is a sneaky rival, it creeps up on you when you least expect it, the silent predator ready to pounce on you and draw you into its web of despair.

Luckily I have my own super powers of positivity and hope, and while they are gentle in their demeanour, they overpower self-doubt if you focus on them with intent and bring them back to life.

My career changed direction 3 weeks ago, and for those first three weeks I was basking in a euphoric bliss, opportunities in my new fitness career have been thrown in my direction and this was obviously exciting.

I have been receiving compliments, I have been positive, I have had faith and conviction that I had made the right choice.

Then today after my third class with low class numbers, self-doubt the evil wizard came to visit me, this was unexpected and powerful and it threw me off balance.

My balance is strong, my being is centred, so having this shift was unnerving and confusing.

Self-doubt – why do you mock me so?

I came home from teaching a class, self-doubt was battling me the entire drive home, it mocked me, it ridiculed me it left me raw and exhausted.

Self-doubt is a sly character, it gets under your skin and can allow you to spiral quickly into a pit of despair if you allow it to drag you under.

I called upon my own super hero’s hope and positivity, they had to fight hard, they hard to fight smart – self-doubt was smothering them.

I had a quiet word with myself, I had lunch with a friend and spoke my fears out loud, the minutes the words had left my lips, I could feel self-doubt losing the fight.

I believe it is normal for anyone going through a life change to encounter this internal struggle; to have moments of doubt and concern that the change you have made is the right one for you. To wonder if you can make it work? and worry about you will succeed.

How you play out this scenario is up to you?

Who wins this fight is up to you?

Don’t allow self-doubt to win this fight.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

