Is society simply moving too fast?

Yesterday afternoon I taught a beautiful class, it was beautiful to me as the 26 people in the class were completely present and focused, united in their movements, breath and solitude.

I believe the class was beautiful to the participants as the air was thick was a contented happiness, a complete stillness descended upon the room as we came out of relaxation, a few moments of silence then claps from the entire room 🙂

A few people left before the relaxation part of the class, as they always do, and as I always do, I felt a moment of sadness that their lives are so busy they can not spare 6 minutes to lie still, relax and just be.

Is society simply moving too fast?

Can we no longer find the time to call a friend for five minutes so we text them or live our friendships by following each other on Facebook ?

Has technology become so convenient that making an effort is now inconvenient ?

When did things start moving so quickly that we can’t find the time to be still?

We work longer hours, we cram more into our days, yet more often than not we refuse to give our bodies and our minds the very thing we need the most – relaxation.

Meditating or relaxing in a quiet place for just five minutes can you give your body an energy boost that will last for hours. Lying or sitting still with your eyes closed and bringing your awareness into your breathing allows you to focus on one thing only, rather than the many things that stimulate our minds every minute.

With everything moving so quickly around us, find time in your life for a little chance to slow down and be still for a moment.

You owe it to yourself!

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is society simply moving too fast?

  1. Penne Chantel says:

    So very true!

Leave a Reply

