The people have spoken

This is a post I wrote a few weeks ago, when I was in my final few works of work. Today I am in my first week away from work, I waited until my work was final until posting this story…….

Today I was involved in my first protest, a protest against the Premier of Queensland and the thousands job cuts 14,000 to be precise.

I am not going to post this until my redundancy is final, but I need to somehow capture my thoughts and emotions before they disappear.

I walked out into the street, down to the park where the protest meeting commenced, what I saw bought shivers to my arms, butterflies to my tummy and tears to my eyes.

To say I was overcome with emotion is an understatement, to say that I was overwhelmed still does not feel strong enough.

To see tens of thousands of people standing up for their beliefs, voicing their opinions and showing such raw emotion is one of the most spectacular events I have witnessed.

This protest not only directly involves me, but many of my friends. I have been in government for 8 years, and yes there have been ups and downs yet nothing could have prepared me for the last 6 months.

The savageness and brutality of the way these cuts have occurred is heartbreaking, the lack of empathy that has been portrayed towards people and their families has left me feeling hollow and empty.

The pictures I have taken of the protest can not begin to capture the intensity of the experience, the size and scope of the protesters and the passion and anger of the people marching.

The people of Queensland have spoken, my people, my city, my friends.

What will come from this I do not know, and I often wonder at the point of protests, the jobs have been lost, people are tired and damaged, people have been let down and hurt.

Yet what is the point of living if you do not stand up for your beliefs, what is the point of complaining of you do not take action. What is the point in being mad, if you do not try to take positive steps to change your situation.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The people have spoken

Leave a Reply

