End of an era

It’s 7:15am on a Friday, but not just any ordinary Friday; today is my last day of work.

Today I leave the government, a place I have worked for the last 8 years.

My tummy is doing flips, my emotions are confused; a mixture of excitement, sadness and uncertainty.

This past week I have been reflecting on my time in government- 8 years of laughter of hard work, of rewards and disappointments.

It would be easy to leave a job and focus only on the negative, to remember the disappointments and use that bitterness to help me move on.

Yet instead; despite some frustrations and moments of despair these last few weeks, I have alot to be thankful for, the people who have helped me to grow, who gave me confidence, and gave me the tools to help me shine!

The friendships I will take with me into my life, and the ones I leave behind- all giving substance to my life. How can I be sad about that!

Today is the end of an era- tomorrow the start of something new! Who knows what tomorrow and the rest of this year will bring? One thing I do know is that I will make it work, whatever IT is, I will be positive and motivated to succeed.

I will ride out whatever emotions are likely to present themselves over the next few weeks and believe that everything will work out for the best!

As the bus pulls in to the city, I will sign off now, practice the deep calming breathing I teach in body balance and brace myself for today!

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to End of an era

  1. Penne Chantel says:

    Hope your day was filled with joy, Lou, And that tonight your celebrations of new life begin!

Leave a Reply

