5 things that took me a while to learn

Expecting too much from people will always end in disappointment!

Set high expectations for yourself, and live your life living up to those things, but do not expect too much from others. People are who they are, expecting more or trying to change them is not an option. At some point in your life, someone will always let you down. A fact that is sad yet true.

This has taken me a long time to learn, and to be honest I am still trying to work this one out; I work hard, I love wholeheartedly, I trust, I give, I support and I get sad when it is not reciprocated. This I need to control more, to understand more.

That’s the beautiful thing about us human beings, we learn, we grow, we continue to learn, continue to grow – if everything was perfect all the time, what would we have to work towards.

Be true and kind to yourself!

Lying to others is horrible, but lying to yourself is soul-destroying. Why try to be something you are not, why pretend you are coping if you aren’t.

If you can’t be honest true and kind to yourself how can you expect others to be this way to you.

Too often we place such large expectations on ourselves, we as a society need to be always be better, fitter, stronger, cope more, have more, be more.

But what do you want? What do you need? Who are you?

Know yourself, love yourself and the rest will start to fall into place.

Accept that people will come and go from your life!

As much as we may meet wonderful people and hope they are around for ever, the reality is they may not be. It took me what feels like a million years to learn this, many shed tears, and many confused hurt moments.

Rather than finding this sad; enjoy the moments you have when beautiful people enter your life, learn from them, grow from them, cherish them.

I believe that everyone enters your life for a reason, even if that reason does not immediately present itself.

Every person you meet is a gift!

Keeping possessions for a special moment!

Why not make every moment special? Enjoy everything you have, every chance you get. Possessions come and go, memories are what should really be treasured.

Never leave problems unresolved!

Every problem has a solution while that solution be may hard to find, every question has an answer, every problem a solution. Letting things stew and fester will not achieve a thing. As difficult as confrontation is, have the guts and the conviction in yourself to make amends if that is what you want. If you are unhappy with a person or a situation leave.

Understand that not all problems can be solved quickly, but if it is important to you-keep at it!

This is me; still learning, still growing, still stumbling, still achieving, still laughing, crying and experiencing everything that life has to offer!

20120915-180614.jpg

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

