Feeling hard done by?

So here I am on a Thursday night, it’s 5:30pm or at least it is at the time I start writing.

I am at a pub by myself -I am fighting off the many advances by young attractive males- actually that’s not true. That was a blatant lie.

Well if I was receiving attention what would I know- I recently found out I need glasses- as I am not wearing them now, these blobs move around me – what would I know, can’t see much except for my glass of wine and my phone held close up to my face -yep kickin it solo at the pub ala nanna style!

Wow-way to digress Lou and yes this really is my first drink!

I am rambling as I have ALOT to say and I feel excited to get it all out, before these jumbled masses of thoughts vanish into oblivion.

Hold on- I really can’t see-yep pulling out the glasses now!

Who knew- that’s way better! What was that dribble I had written previously? Just joking- that was gold!

Anyho -time to get serious.

Honestly still on my first glass!

This post is about people feeling hard done by: those people we all know them; their lives are always worse than yours, their troubles greater, their struggles more intense.

These people whose lives are so much worse than yours are the ones who never ask about your life, they don’t have time to – with all the tales of woe to tell you of their own sorry tales.

I am aware how harsh I am sounding, so allow me to explain a little further.

I am currently reading books set around war time, I don’t need to explain to you, times were obviously tough.
People got by, they had to, what other choice did they have? Survive or die!

I live in Australia, yes the economy is currently bad, yes I am going into a work meeting tomorrow where many of us may lose our jobs, yes I have faults, my family is not always perfect, my house needs renovations…..

Yet I am going to stop here, you know why? Because my life is amazing!

No matter what is going on around me, and even as a little whinge is escaping from my lips now and then, I still know and appreciate how lucky I am.

You choose the perspective on life you want, you choose the one you need.

If your perspective is blurry- get glasses or change your view.

If you feel hard done by and the world is against you- read books about people less fortunate than yourself, watch the news, remember history, do charity work.

Do anything but wallow in self pity.
Re-asses, re-evaluate, try to get a little bit of perspective.

If your greatest issue in life is having not one but two things to do at work, be grateful you even have work.

If you are still sitting solo at the pub 20 minutes later wondering where your husband is-be grateful you have a husband.

If your biggest problem is opening a wardrobe filled with clothes and having “nothing to wear” well do I even need to finish that?

Next time you feel hard done by, please just ask yourself ” in the scheme of other people and things in world, is my life really that bad?”.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

