Keeping spirits high

How do you keep your spirits high when negativity surrounds you?

How do you remain positive when that negativity feels like it is consuming you?

These are the questions I find myself being asked more and more frequently of late, and I hate to admit it, but I am finding it increasingly more difficult to stay on top of things and not be overwhelmed!

While this blog may repeat other words I have spoken, I feel it warrants discussion again.

So what do you do? What is the answer?

My answer: whatever you need to and can do. As I lay in my second bath of the week, and even put on a mud face pack – not sure why it seemed like a relaxing calming thing to do.

20120813-175219.jpg

I took a photo (obviously) and I looked at my sad little face, and I realized that without really realizing it, I have been shifting my priorities to focus on me, and what makes me happy, relaxed and content.

I include this horrible pic of me to remind me that even though I am clearly not looking my best, with mud on my face – things can only improve and things will always get better.

Living through the dark work times only serves to remind me that you need to look out for yourself – you need to look after yourself.

While I certainly don’t plan on neglecting those in my life who are in need of love and support, I recognize that there is no way I can offer support to others if I am too weak from not looking after myself.

You need to build your own strength up first before you can be strong for others.

Be kind to yourself, this I have definitely said before!

Recognize and accept that life at times may seem unfair, yet like many obstacles we are faced with, some things are simply out of our control.

So control what you can, and for those things that you can’t – have faith that everything will work out for the best.

Have faith in yourself that you are strong enough to handle whatever may come your way.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Keeping spirits high

  1. lizzesparkesduarte says:

    Thanks! x

  2. So very true, as always, Lou! I honestly think there is “something in the air” lately as many people I know have been feeling this way too, including myself. When times are tough the best way to deal with it really is to get a little ‘me time’. Somehow it always seems to help you to cope a little better. Not many would bare themselves to the world as you do Lou, I commend you! Keep smiling beautiful lady 🙂

Leave a Reply

