Fish and chips to stop me going feral

Today I went a bit feral, allow me to tell you why.

I have been sick for over a week now, nothing too major just an infection on my chest, hacking cough, aching body, feel like an elephant is sitting on my chest, strained muscles in my throat, neck etc from coughing so much but that’s not the point of the story.

Today was my fourth day without leaving the house, last night was the 2nd birthday party I had missed. Today when I looked out the window and saw the spectacular weather outside I jumped off my couch- (ok kind of clumsily rolled) and through tear stained eyes and for the sake of our marriage, I pleaded with my husband to take me somewhere near the water.

20120617-134418.jpg

20120617-134430.jpg

So here I am at Manly, overlooking the beautiful Moreton Bay soaking up the sun while my husband is getting us fish and chips.

20120617-134718.jpg

My energy levels are still low, the cough is still there I hurt all over but I sit here in the sun and I smile, and as the sun continues to warm my body my spirit is lifting.

I sit and I contemplate the healing effects that thinking positively and surrounding yourself with things that make you happy has, that for me is sunshine and the water.

I am thinking that you should always find or make time in your weekend to do the things that bring you the most joy.

As I ate my fish and chips, I reflected on all the happy moments in my life, and remembered once more that life really is about a series of moments. Tiny seemingly insignificant moments that add together to form a video montage of happiness in your mind. It is not always about finding those big grand gestures to make your life whole, it is enjoying each and every moment every chance you get.

20120617-155840.jpg

Today something as simple as fish and chips by the water stopped me from turning into a feral animal at home.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

