How do you find the motivation to exercise in Winter?

20120615-104457.jpg

You had found your exercise routine, you were motivated, you exercised often, you felt great and then along came winter.
When it starts to get colder, it’s dark when you wake up,  and it is harder to get out of bed in the mornings how do you convince yourself to get up and work out?

20120615-104932.jpg

What will you do if you actually do manage to get up, you look in the mirror and you are greeted with your first good hair day in a week? Do you want to risk ruining it at the gym?

20120615-105620.jpg

Ok so the hair thing is not serious, but what is the answer to keeping your motivation levels up in winter?

20120615-110410.jpg

Forget about exercising to change your body shape, it’s Winter you will be covered up anyway. Start focussing on how you FEEL when you exercise, start thinking about how your energy levels will increase throughout the day as a result, and how the endorphins you release during exercise will make you feel great,  and that my friends is worth getting out of bed for.

Not being Winter’s number one fan; trust me I know hard it is to get up in the colder months, yet for the allure of the snooze button and the mad dash out of bed into a 5 minute hot shower to warm and wake up, once I am in warm clothes then at the gym it is all worth while.

20120615-113029.jpg

When you get home from a long day at work, and it is dark and cold, do not, I repeat DO NOT glance at your couch looking at you seductively, trying to lure you over.  Get changed immediately and do some exercise, even 30 minutes will help to improve your life.

As I said, exercising releases feel good endorphins that we need when the sun is hiding and robbing us of Vitamin D to make us happy. Exercising helps you sleep better at night and increases your general  well-being.

Find your motivation by focussing on all the positive reasons to exercise.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

