Finding gratitude among the things you dislike

It feels as though it has been a long while since I wrote about gratitude, don’t get me wrong I have a lot to be grateful for, and I appreciate my life every chance I get, yet todays post is about finding gratitude amongst things you don’t really like.

Today I pick Winter!

I am not a fan of the cold, it is winter and I am not a fan at all! For my overseas readers reading this, I should probably fess up right now I live in Australia, and not only that I live in Queensland, it is currently 17 degrees celsius and I am COLD!

Pathetic I know!

I know I know this is an insult to all of you living in actual cold countries, but I always promise to be honest so there you go, it is winter, and I hate it!

Today, however I took my cranky pants off, I put on some warm leggings, I put on my uggboots so my feet were toasty and warm, I found my beloved beanie that kept me warm in the UK – this led of course to thoughts of the UK and how cold it was living there, and as the cold wind slapped my face, so did the reality check of how mild our winter really is.

Instead of sulking that I was at the beach and it was raining, I instead took my husband and two friends on a twenty-minute drive through the pouring rain and road works and headed for a place I know. A surf club on the coast , a building enclosed in glass windows jutting out over the water’s edge – amazing!

I gazed at the water and was instantly energized by the energy that rough seas create, the sheer power that a stormy ocean creates is exhilarating. How can I not be grateful for that.

As I huddled under my umbrella and ran for cover I sat in awe at the sight in front of me, and as a king tide caused the water to rise rapidly so did my gratitude to witness nature, to be with friends, to live in such an amazing place.

20120611-173004.jpg

So here I am now in my house on my comfortable couch, grateful my garden is sparking with the remnants of the raindrops, grateful for finding beauty in the cold, grateful for the huge glass of wine warming my insides and grateful for the many wonderful moments I experience in my life.

20120611-182257.jpg

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finding gratitude among the things you dislike

  1. I LOVE the cold, Lou. Like you, I was out and about with hubby in the 17 degrees, bleak, rainy Sunday/Monday. And not a word of complain from this little beaver 🙂

Leave a Reply

