Finding your sparkle

Have you ever looked in the mirror and really disliked what you see?

Lately the reflection I see looking back at me does not make me happy.

I am a girl so asking “does my bum look fat in this?” is as normal as thinking I am an awesome dancer after 10 champagnes, or saying “No, I am not mad at you, everything is fine” when really it is not!

Joking, I actually am an awesome dancer! Really it’s true, just ask the many asses I have kicked all over the dance floor in the many dance off’s I have won – yet again I digress!

Back to body image, being a female we all have insecurities from time to time, yet my issue of late is not with my body, it is with these eyes of mine, normally so filled with life and sparkling with the possibilities of mischief and adventure. These eyes that for the past few months keep staring back at me with tiredness etched around them.

I look drawn and old, and maybe I am getting old, but I refuse to accept that! My eyes have lost their sparkle and I am on a mission to get it back.

Today I started planning a weekend away, a weekend filled with adventure and laughs with some friends.  I found a hotel, and immediately ran to look in the mirror and a tiny sparkle is already starting to return.

When I take my mind off all the stressful things, and allow myself to get excited about the weekend, my eyes are glistening.  In just a few hours, the tired pale version of me is morphing into the person I remember, the person who loves life, who loves to get involved in everything and throw herself into things with reckless abandon.

So after taking far longer to than I should to get to the point I am trying to make, my point simply is this; if you don’t like the person you see – change it! Don’t cover it up with makeup, don’t mask the issue, confront it head on. Simple but true! If you don’t like the way you are feeling, work out what is causing you stress, identify what makes you happy and do not stop until you get that good feeling back.

Get your sparkle back and love the person you see looking back at you.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

