Friendships 20 years in the making

Last night I had my 20 year school reunion- yes my friends, I am that old!

Twenty years ago I left school, and while my looks are thankfully relatively unchanged, the person that walked into that school last night is an entirely different more confident version of the girl who walked out.

Yesterday I checked in to a penthouse in the city with ten beautiful girls, I am fortunate enough to still call good friends.

Twenty years ago the thought of kids, cars, mortgages, important jobs seemed as tangible as me walking on the moon, yet there we were in our penthouse sipping on our champagnes, a fine step up from passion pop or goon discussing all these very things; the challenges in our lives, the journey we have all been on.

As we were all getting ready we contemplated the groups at school and we wondered what questions do you ask people you have not seen for such a long time.

What answers do you give?

The older you get, the more you realize what is truly important in life. Status does not matter, achievements don’t matter, what is important is the person you have become, and if you are happy in your life.

Life is about finding and cherishing those friendships that allow you to be the real you, problems and all. Last night as we chatted until morning, I looked around the room at the faces that have helped shaped me, who have listened and cared for me, inspired and motivated me and my heart was bursting at the seams with happiness and good fortune that allowed me to meet these people so long ago.

Last night I caught up with other people I had a connection with so long ago that sadly had been lost over the years, yet some connections are strong, they instantly resurface and survive.

Throughout life we are forced to interact with a wide range of people, yet life is short, and spare time is a rare luxury, so choose your friends wisely. Spend more time with the people who matter, and don’t concern yourself with those who don’t.

Don’t waste time worrying about what others think, especially those people you do not respect.
Find at least one good quality in everyone you have to spend time with, and spend your time focussing on that rather than the things that drive you mad.

Last night was a crazy rushed speed dating type experience, trying to catch up with several people, in a short amount of time, and as much fun as it was, as I sit here and type, I realize how lucky I am to have the friendships I do. I feel grateful that I discovered tweezers and waxing, so that I no longer have the bushy eyebrows I had at school but mostly I feel proud of the people we have all become, and I reflect on twenty years of amazing experiences and memories.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friendships 20 years in the making

  1. Thank you so much for another great post. It’s Sundaymorning overr here, and after reading this, I’m going to call a friend of mine who I haven’t seen in ages. What a great start of the day. Thanks Lou.

Leave a Reply

