Time out corner

The time out corner; parents and teachers have been using this for years. Now I am not a parent or a teacher, but I understand the concept behind it, kid becomes naughty, or over stimulated throw em in the time out corner for a while, allowing them to calm down a little and if you are lucky enough they may even contemplate their actions.

Following on from my tired ramblings last night, I started thinking about all the stress and uncertainty in mine, my husbands and many of my friends workplace at the moment,  and after waking up feeling refreshed for the first time all week, my mind is instantly thinking of ways I could possibly help people through these times of stress.

With so much negativity, change, and stress at work, with a blanket of uncertainty around most of our jobs, how do we maintain motivation, happiness and momentum?

Then I started thinking about the time out corner, and while I am not suggesting we throw certain offenders at work into the naughty corner, even though they have made us feel like crap, I must admit that as I type this I am making myself feel happier just imaging being able to do this to certain people. I do however realise I am yet to get to the main point of my story.

When you know you are walking into work for 8 hours and you can be sure that at least 7 of those 8 hours could potentially be draining, stressful and tense, you NEED to find your own coping mechanisms.

Find a time out corner, a place where you can shut out all the crap, reflect, breathe, be still and focus on something happy. Walk outside for 5 minutes of fresh air, if smokers are allowed to have a smoke break, us non smokers should use this time as a time-out break.  Breathe in some fresh air (not standing next to the smokers – obviously – no offense smokers!) Feel the sun on your face, or step away from your desk, stand in the kitchen, be anywhere except for that place that is causing you angst.

It is imperative for your well-being to find your own coping mechanisms, I know for my work, we have at least a few more months of this to get through, people are going to keep getting stressed, stress causes illness and people can not maintain this.

So find your time out corner, use it, depend on it and if someone fills that corner with more crap, find a new corner to claim as your own.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

