Acts of kindness

Yesterday as I was leaving work, a lady stopped me to pay me a lovely compliment.

I almost skipped out of work, I was so happy! I started thinking about how sometimes kind words from strangers really seem to sink in and mean so much.

Maybe it’s the unexpected surprise that catches you off guard and gives you that extra boost you may be needing in your day.

I walked out of my building smiling and thinking about ways that I can make others feel as good, when my thoughts were suddenly interrupted as I saw my friend Brad over the road; excited to see him I ran over the road yelling his name.

While I don’t make a habit of always saying mean things to my friends – quick side story: Brad had given us all permission that if we see him on his bike we can call him a loser- this permission was granted several months ago, yet we never see him- you can imagine my delight when I finally saw him!

As I jumped infront of the bike I pointed my finger in his face yelling “loser” sadly this was not my friend Brad at all, but a random guy I just called a loser!

A rushed, confused apology by me, a death stare and silence from him, and the man was gone. As hysterical as I found this situation, I walked to the gym thinking again about comments from strangers, and I only hope this guy did not give me a second thought, I hope I did not make him feel terrible inside.

Again, the thing about throw away comments, you never know what is really going on in people’s lives, one meaningless comment from you may mean the world (in a good or bad way) to someone else.

So today I set upon a mission to give free compliments and smiles to strangers ….

I am setting out to make as many people feel good as I possibly can.

It’s 5:40am and I hopped on the bus and thanked the driver for being up so early to drive us, and compliment number two went to the lady in the red coat as I told her that colour looked great on her.

At 5:43am I am excited to spend the day bringing happiness to people, I am actively seeking out ways to bring random acts of kindness to strangers.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

