Fifteen minutes after receiving a wordpress comment

Yesterday I got an unfavourable comment on my blog, well I instantly read it and felt a little sad let me tell you why.  The comment was telling me that my blog consists of pages and pages of mindless dribble,  I have managed to smear my pages with self-indulgent mindless crap, and I have the maturity of a 12-year-old.

As I said, I instantly felt sad and deflated for about 5 minutes , 6 minutes after reading it, I emailed the comments to my husband who instantly replied with this – “allow me to send you something a smart person I know sent me” – this is what he sent:

Negative People

I read the words I had written a little while ago and on the 10th minute I thought you know what, the words I wrote then are true and should always be remembered, and I took my own advice.

On the 12th minute I decided to not publish his comment – please let me elaborate here; I am all for freedom of speech, after all isn’t that what blogging is all about!  I certainly do not expect everyone to agree with me, or even to like me; my ideas, my thoughts, the way I live my life.  What I do wonder is why this person felt the need to write so much to tell me how crap I am, did it make them feel good about themselves to do this? and why did they spend time at all writing to someone they clearly do not respect?

I chose not to post the comments, as I do with many things in life, if i receive a hurtful text or email the old me would have been known to keep reading over it and filing myself with rage over and over and again – why do we do this to ourselves? The new me, now hits delete and moves on, not because I feel I am right and they are wrong, but because life simply is too short to keep any negativity in your life!

My final comment is to the writer of the feedback – is that on the 14th minute I thought what an amazing compliment to compare me to a 12-year-old. Let me explain; 12 year-olds in my mind are all that we as adults yearn to be, we remember the days without financial commitments, no work stresses, our lives ahead were filled with endless possibilities.  This person with their comments has managed to capture the very essence of what I try to be; young and carefree, youthful and alive. I keep that 12-year-old locked inside me to remind me to always be searching for more, to live more and search for more possibilities in life.

On the 15th minute I went to teach a body balance class, I smiled the entire walk down there, I smiled that I am happy enough in myself and with the person I am to only spend 15 minutes feeling sad at receiving negative comments. I thank this person for reminding me of all of this, for making me appreciate all the great comments and people in my life.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fifteen minutes after receiving a wordpress comment

  1. yogidebear says:

    Your response to this situation is perfect. Thank you for filling your blog with pages and pages of your inspirational wisdom like this 🙂

  2. Bec says:

    Lou, I think you’ve missed a vital point here. The person who posted the negative comment admitted to reading “pages and pages” of “mindless dribble”. Why didn’t they stop reading after just one page?

Leave a Reply

