What I learnt this week from a dog

I have been dog sitting my mums dog for a week, and during this week I have thought a lot about the joy dogs bring into your life and feel I have learnt many others things as well.

Allow me to explain!

Dogs are pretty simple creatures, and I wonder why we as humans can’t all be a little bit more simplistic in our daily lives.  Life really is so simple in my mind, and as I watched Ruby (the dog) this past week it dawned on me how clever they really are.

Dogs race around the place, they have boundless energy when they are excited, and they rest and sleep when they need to – this is what I have been preaching about for years, and this week I have watched Ruby  doing this with such ease.

Dogs don’t care what people think – they do what they want when they want and I kind of respect that. Dogs do what makes them feel good, regardless of the consequences and potential ridicule.

Thanks to my husband for chopping up meat and still having the smell on his fingers to allow me to get this great shot!

Dogs are so pleased to see you when you get home, they show their emotions so openly and expressively. The excitement and joy they show are raw and refreshing to see. If they are mad at you they let you know instantly you hug it out and move on.

Dogs get mad when you try to take their food away – amen to that! – I hear ya Ruby!

Ruby wanted to give me high fives when she was proud of herself – her favourite party trick. Ruby loves food as much as I do and would frequently try to steal my food. Mostly Ruby like most dogs just want a pat, to be fed and go for a walk.

They ask for so little yet they give back so much.

That my friends is why we can learn so much from dogs, and why I am a little concerned at this moment in time that describing Ruby is almost like describing myself, apart from licking my husband’s hand, however I may try to bite his hand if he took my food away.

20120414-173933.jpg

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

