The power of visual imagery

I am teaching a new body balance release, why do you care I hear you ask, well allow me to tell you about a recent epiphany I had.

Learning new choreography is at times frustrating especially when I am always busy with little time to practice and because I am also a perfectionist and refuse to give up until it is perfect.

Somewhere between learning some moves and frustratingly forgetting the others I started to listen, I mean really listen and actually hear the words I was saying and practising as well.

This release is focused on using the power of visual images to get my participants enhancing their poses and pushing their boundaries.

Using phrases such as: “breathe in, imagine where you could go, now exhale and go there!”

I had been saying these words during my practise but not really comprehending the full weight and intensity behind them.

Something in my brain clicked, I began to visualize in ny mind the moves I had been seeing and had been practising, the very same moves I thought I had not yet learnt. I imagined myself performing these with perfection.

I held onto these thoughts that they became so firmly etched in my mind that when I ran to my spare room to test my theory and practice the release.  A tiny part of my mind was telling me I did not know the choreography well enough, yet suddenly as the images danced before me, they took over my brain resulting in me performing the entire release error free.

Athletes have done studies on similar things, with amazing results and more often than not the sports person who visualizes themselves to be the winner, the one who feels it who rehearses it over and in their minds, the ones who feel that winning feeling, the ones who taste it, and who belive are the winners are the ones who actually achieve it.

So I give you this challenge, the next time you need to perform in any situation; whether that be at work, in sport, in any life situation, imagine yourself performing it with perfection, allow your mind to experience the happiness and satisfaction that will come from achieving this, and then reap the rewards.

I would love to hear your feedback after trying this too.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

