Innocence of children

Children have an innocence that as adults we envy and crave. We marvel at their ability to speak their minds freely and express themselves with random and reckless abandon.

As children we long to grow up and be adults, as adults we wish we could recapture those feelings, that ability to do what we want and be who we want to be without fear of ridicule.

Children dress up and play they do not care who sees them or who judges them;  they are free and they are beautiful.

We watch them and envy the un-tainted pure way in which they view the world. We silently wish that we could spend just one day like this.

Yet we grow up, we care about others impressions of us, we worry about being judged, we fear being ridiculed.  We stress that if we spend a day on our weekends “playing” that we are failing to complete our quota of responsibilities.

Why does it feel that for all the soul-searching we do throughout our life journey, all the thought we put into maintaining the perfect lifestyle, the perfect job -just one glance at a child playing makes it feel that we as adults have it all wrong.

Why is it so hard to strike that balance between grown up responsibilies, and child like innocence?

I for one, try my hardest (and suceed quite well) at maintaing that youthful energy, this keeps me young, keeps me sane, and gives me the energy to keep plowing through my grown-up duties.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

