Choose Life

The last few days at work have been hectic to say the least; hectic days like these leave me feeling drained, depleted and generally exhausted.  Days, and weeks like these not only zap your energy, they leave you pushing the things you love in your life to the side.  Your friends, your partner, your blog stories.

Why do we end up sacrificing the things we love for the things we feel we need to do?  Work is important, don’t get me wrong, and for me, it is important to always give 100 per cent at work.  So the question is, how do we find that balance of giving your all to a job and still having the energy to give the rest of you to your life?

My solution is this: Choose Life, choose to live, choose to love, choose to do that which makes you happy. 

I left work today and wondered how I could possibly have the energy, to cook dinner, to speak with my husband, to write a story.  I sat on the bus, and contemplated eating cheese and crackers for dinner, sitting on the couch, sulking and watching tv. 

I wondered, if I can keep pushing myself at work, why does it seem so hard to push yourself to achieve the things outside of work, that you really want to achieve?

Instead, I cooked a steak, poured a wine, hugged my husband before he went out, turned on the radio and chose to write, chose to keep chasing my dream of writing.  Chose to not let my day at work dictate the rest of my evening.

Decide what life you want and choose that life always.

 

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Choose Life

  1. Great post, Lou. It’s so true that sometimes we get so involved with work that we neglect other aspects of our life, when in reality, it should be the other way around 🙂 Hope you have a relaxing weekend doing things you love!

Leave a Reply

