Body Image

Body Image: a hard topic to discuss, an even more difficult topic to be brutally honest with yourself about.

Why do we all have so many hang ups about ourselves?  Is it the media, the airbrushed magazine images of beauty that are thrown in our faces, staring out at us through billboards that cause self-doubt and insecurities?

Why do we constantly compare ourselves to these images, and feel inadequate and insecure?

Today I watched three girls preparing for a bikini photo shoot, these girls were beautiful, yet more interestingly these girls had lumps and bumps in all the same places that I do and cause me my own angst.

These girls looked normal, these girls looked healthy, these girls looked beautiful in their natural form.  Yet these girls, will be airbrushed, these girls will be made to look thinner, look less blemished, will be made to look “perfect”.

When you start to realise this, when you realise that the images we are made to believe are perfect, are in actual fact make-believe it is easier to start loving yourself more.

When you start to look at yourself without that self-doubt, and constant comparison of everyone else around you, when you start loving yourself for who you are, here is what happens……

Your confidence in yourself changes the way you walk, the way you smile, the way you view the world.  Your confidence transpires to inner beauty, your inner beauty seeps out of your pores and radiates out of your body.

Besides looking in the mirror and actually liking what you see, people gravitate towards you and want to be around you more.

Self-confidence is contagious, it is electric and powerful!

Be realistic about your own body image, stop comparing yourself to models and love what you see in the mirror.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

