In my pj’s and loving it

After what has felt like a ridiculously long week, I am at home at 9:18pm on a Friday night, in my pj’s, after racing through the front door and  scrambling madly to turn my laptop on before my jumbled thoughts turned to mush.

 It is 9:20pm on a Friday night, I am home in my pj’s and I am completely fine and happy with this. I am more than happy with this.  I don’t feel embarrassed I feel excited.

 I mentioned my jumbled thoughts, these come about like this when I reflect on all the goodness in my life, and get so excited to capture it all that the thoughts appear like crashing waves, tumbling in over each other, that finding the calm is a challenge.

 Let me explain how it all began.

 5pm:  I left work in a rush, bound for the hairdressers; a guilty pleasure, a guilty expense that is for me and me alone.  When I sit in the hairdressers, I can completely unwind, and sit still and just be.  I enjoy the head massage, I enjoy sitting still, I enjoy the way my hair feels, I enjoy the way I look when I leave, and if I am to be completely honest, I enjoy the looks I receive when I feel and look good.

 7:25pm: Feeling refreshed, I race again to a new destination, the racing feels different from the race I did from work, as I have regrouped, gathered my thoughts and I feel alive again. 

 7:30pm: I arrive at the Belgium Beer Café where a group of people from my work  had been since 6pm, and were planning on leaving at 8pm.  I am new to this work area, but I see the table of my new friends, people I work with, who I barely know, but I like enough to want to know better and I smile at this.

 We stay at the place until 8:30pm – in one short hour, I have learnt so much more about them all, and I feel so happy and so lucky to work with such a great diverse amazing mix of people.  It is energizing to me when people from different countries and backgrounds, with different personalities can come together and find common ground.  We can learn from each other, discover new things, laugh about our differences and still have plenty to talk about.

 8:45pm: I get on the bus, listening to my iPod, as I have a new body balance routine to learn this weekend. I am glad I didn’t drink a lot tonight, so I can get up early and practice. I am grateful I don’t need to drink to have a good time. 

 As the music floods my ears, and fills my senses, a sense of joy and happiness washes over me, this release is all about being happy and comfortable with yourself and while this topic will no doubt inspire an entirely separate blog story from me, right now I am smiling as it is now 9:30pm and here I am on the couch, drinking orange juice and having cheese and crackers for dinner, and I am so happy with my life, I am happy and proud of the person I am and I got to be honest, this is not something I say too often – that makes me immensely fulfilled and alive.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

