Old friends (the one’s you have had for a while – not who are 89 years old)

I know my last post was about friendship too, however this week my life has been brimming with friendship and my heart is overflowing!
Why, out of all the new jeans that you buy you always come back to your old faithfuls? Your trusty comfy jeans that you can hide away in your cupboard and know when you reunite again those jeans will fit so well and make you so happy to spend the day.
I have a handful of friends as truly wonderful as my favorite jeans. I believe we are in the minority; friends since school, friends who may go for a long while in between catch ups, yet the minute we smile, embrace and say hello it is as though we never parted.
I am lucky; all my life I have been blessed with many friends, I pick up new ones constantly along my journey. Some may stay for a while, some are a distant memory. A few seem to enter my life momentarily giving us both what we need at the time, then we move on grateful for the opportunity to have met.
The older I get, the less time I seem to have; emphasizing the need to let go of those friendships that are weighing me down, allowing more time for the ones that give me strength.
Last night I caught up with my school friends, my comfy trusty jeans friends. We reminisce of the past, of the days without responsibility where days were endless and being carefree was in abundance. We talk of the present, the different stages our lives are currently at, the jobs we have the husbands, the kids, the responsibilities we each have, and we dream of the future.

The future we know that wherever we are all at in our lives, will still hold a place for each other even when we are 89 when our real comfy jeans are a distant memory and no longer fit, these friendships are solid, these friendships are real, and these friendships will never disappear.

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
This entry was posted in FRIENDSHIP and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

