I AM ME

Today I had a good friend come over for coffee. Spending time with good friends like her, makes me feel so appreciative for good friends.

If you are anything like me, you are always busy and struggling to find the time to catch up with friends and family, that when you do it is a pure majestic joy.

The friend I saw today understands me, she sees through my flaws, she disregards my weaknesses and she appreciates my strengths. She is non judgemental, and honest. There are no pretences in our relationship and it is refreshing to just be myself, no masquerade, no facade.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not the type of person who pretends to be someone she is not, but I think we all have a handful of friends who allow you to really shine and be the real you. It hurts me when people in my life feel as though they can not be honest with me.

I am sure all of us at some time have had work colleagues or bosses you need to tone the real you down to. It is exhausting, as you put on your appropriate mask, the real you is bubbling under the surface just screaming to be let free.

Which leads me to wonder why do we hang on to the people in our lives who judge us, who don’t really appreciate us, who are jealous of us, or threatened by us?

Why don’t we let go of the toxic people in our lives to allow us more time with the ones who give us strength, who motivate and inspire us?

During writing this, I have been on the phone to a friend, a relatively new friend in my life, another friend who despite all our differences, our friendship is strong and true, it is unbiased and it too fills my heart with joy. She sees me for me, our differences make us laugh and help us to grow and learn.

Friends like the two I have spent time with today, leave me feeling alive, feeling blessed and leave me feeling like a great person, if I can attract such amazing people like them into my life, I must be pretty terrific myself.

Again I can’t help but wonder with friends like these who make me feel so fantastic, why do I waste my time with those who don’t?

About Lou Schwarz

I am a traveller at heart.I dream about travel- of exploring the world and meeting new people. When I am not dreaming or travelling; I work in communications and media and I also teach body balance group fitness classes. I live my life trying to motivate and inspire people through fitness, doing one thing a week that scares me, and unleashing my creativity as frequently as I can. When I am not getting my zen on through teaching I am constantly attract ridiculous things and people into my life and I wouldn't have it any other way. I hope you enjoy my two blogs -or at least one of them :)
Aside | This entry was posted in FRIENDSHIP and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

